clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Javy Lopez, Dave Pursley and Rabbit Maranville Latest in Braves Hall of Fame

The ceremony for the trio will be held on May 23.

Kevin C. Cox

This morning, the Braves announced the latest class to be inducted to the Braves Hall of Fame.

Leading the group is longtime Braves catcher Javy Lopez. Lopez grew to be a fan favorite as he played for the Braves from 1992 to 2003. A three-time All-Star, Javy also won a Silver Slugger, Comeback Player of the Year, MVP of the 1996 NLCS and of course a World Series ring in 1995.

Next is former trainer Dave Pursley. Pursley started training with the Milwaukee Braves in 1961 and moved to Atlanta with the team, where he worked until 2002. He's already been inducted in the National Athletic Trainers' Association Hall of Fame.

Last in Boston Brave Walter James Vincent "Rabbit" Maranville. Maranville, who's already enshrined in Cooperstown, played for the Boston Braves from 1912-1920, 1929-1933 and 1936. A shortstop, "Rabbit" got his nickname from his speed and 5-foot-5, 155 pound build.

The ceremony inducting Lopez, Pursley and Maranville to the Braves Hall of Fame will be May 23. This usually means a luncheon, followed by an on-field ceremony during that night's game.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power