clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Home Run Derby 2018: Time, TV schedule, participants for Monday night

MLB: Toronto Blue Jays at Atlanta Braves Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

All-Star festivities continue from Nationals Park in Washington D.C. Monday night with the Home Run Derby.

Freddie Freeman is among eight contestants who will be vying for the 2018 title. Among the participants, Bryce Harper is the only one to ever compete in the contest before.

Three of the players in the Derby field didn’t make the All-Star squad. They are Dodgers infielder Max Muncy, Cubs outfielder Kyle Schwarber and Phillies outfielder Rhys Hoskins. Players were ranked in order of their home run totals through Tuesday July 10. National League last vote winner Jesus Aguilar is the top seed.

  1. Jesus Aguilar, Brewers
  2. Bryce Harper, Nationals
  3. Max Muncy, Dodgers
  4. Alex Bregman, Astros
  5. Kyle Scwarber, Cubs
  6. Javier Baez, Cubs
  7. Freddie Freeman, Braves
  8. Rhys Hoskins, Phillies



Seven of the eight contestants are from the National League so this year’s event is very much an individual competition. Each round is four minutes long and stars when the first pitch is thrown. If a player hits two home runs longer than 440 feet in that round, he will get an extra 30 seconds of bonus time at the end of the round.

Television and streaming info

Time: 8 p.m. ET


Streaming: Watch ESPN and

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power