clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mike Soroka finishes second in NL Rookie of the Year voting

New York’s Pete Alonso takes home the NL honor.

Los Angeles Dodgers v Atlanta Braves Photo by Scott Cunningham/Getty Images

Awards week got underway Monday night with the announcement of the 2019 Rookie of the Year winners. Atlanta Braves right-hander Mike Soroka put together an outstanding season in his first full year in the majors but came up short in the voting finishing second to Mets first baseman Pete Alonso. Alonso captured 29 of the 30 first place votes with the other going to Soroka.

Despite the runner up finish, Soroka had a banner season finishing third in the NL with a 2.68 ERA which is eighth all-time among rookie pitchers. He finished with 4.0 fWAR which was second among rookies trailing only Alonso who totaled 4.8. Soroka led the Majors with a 1.55 ERA on the road which is the third best mark since 1969 trailing only Greg Maddux and Roger Clemens.

Alonso set a Major League record for home runs by a rookie with 53 and led Major League rookies in most offensive categories. San Diego’s Fernando Tatis Jr. finished third in the voting. Tatis put together a .317/.379/.590 line with 22 home runs before a back injury ended his season.

Yordan Alvarez took home the award for the American League after hitting .313 with 27 home runs and 78 RBIs in just 87 games and received all 30 first place votes. Baltimore lefty John Means was the runner up while Tampa Bay infielder Brandon Lowe finished third in the voting.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power