clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brian Snitker finishes third in Manager of the Year voting

No repeat for Snitker this time around.

Divisional Series - Atlanta Braves v St Louis Cardinals - Game Three Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Awards week continued on Tuesday night with the announcement of the Manager of the Year awards. Atlanta Braves Manager Brian Snitker finished third in the voting behind St. Louis skipper Mike Shildt and Milwaukee’s Craig Counsell.

Shildt takes home the crown despite finishing with three fewer first place votes than Counsell. Shildt added 14 second place votes while Counsell totaled just six to take home the award. Snitker third in the voting with three first place votes, six second and 12 third.

Snitker led the Braves to a second straight NL East title in 2019 despite being essentially overlooked during the preseason. Atlanta was projected by many for a third or fourth place finish in the division. Snitker has earned the trust of his players and has proven capable of getting the most out of them the last two seasons.

Rocco Baldelli took home Manager of the Year honors in the American League beating out New York’s Aaron Boone and Tampa’s Kevin Cash. Baldelli and Boone each received 13 first place votes but Baldelli also received 13 second place votes while Boone received nine. Cash received three first place votes. Baldelli is the fourth Twins manager to win AL Manager of the Year joining Tom Kelly, Ron Gardenhire and Paul Molitor.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power