clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Andruw Jones on 2020 Hall of Fame Ballot

Jones is looking for more support from the BBWAA.

MLB: AUG 16 Dodgers at Braves Photo by Rich von Biberstein/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The 2020 Hall of Fame ballots went out to BBWAA voters on Monday who will have until December 31 to cast their votes. This year’s ballot will feature a number of former Braves players including Andruw Jones, Billy Wagner, Gary Sheffield and newcomer Rafael Furcal.

Players need to appear on 75 percent of the ballots to gain enshrinement. Players also must receive at least five percent of the vote in order to remain on the ballot and can do so for 10 years. Voting results will be announced on January 21.

Jones will be in his third year on the ballot and has received just enough support to stick around. He garnered 7.5% of the vote and will need to capture at least 5% to remain on the ballot next year. Wagner captured 16.7% of the vote in 2019 while Sheffield settled at 13.6%.

Curt Schilling appeared on 60.9% of ballots last year which is the highest total of any holdover. Shilling, Roger Clemens (59.5%) and Barry Bonds (59.1%) will appear on the ballot for the eighth time this year. Larry Walker received 54.6% of the vote last year and will need a surge in his 10th and final year on the ballot.

Former Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter is the biggest name among the group of newcomers that also includes Bobby Abreu, Jason Giambi and Cliff Lee.

Anyone appearing on 75 percent of the ballots will be inducted in a ceremony at Cooperstown, New York on July 26. The Modern Era ballot was released earlier this month and includes former Braves great Dale Murphy. Voting for the Modern Era Ballot will take place on December 8 at the Baseball Winter Meetings.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power