clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rawlings announced the 2019 Gold Glove winners. No Braves were among them.

The Braves had two Gold Glove finalists, Neither took home the hardware on Sunday evening.

MLB: Washington Nationals at Atlanta Braves Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

The Braves were a sound defensive team all through the 2019 season. While some there were some weak points defensively on the roster, for the most part the team played very sound defense and that paid dividends over the course of a 162 game season.

For their efforts, the Braves had two players nominated for Gold Gloves in third baseman Josh Donaldson and second baseman Ozzie Albies. Those were not the only strong defenders on the team (Dansby Swanson, Freddie Freeman, and Julio Teheran all come to mind as others), but Donaldson and Albies were good choices even if neither should have been favored to win the award at their respective positions.

Well, the awards were announced and, as many suspected, the Braves did not take home any hardware.


AL winner: Matt Olson, OAK

Nominated: Yuli Gurriel, HOU; Justin Smoak, TOR

NL Winner: Anthony Rizzo, CHC

Nominated: Christian Walker, ARI; Paul Goldschmidt, STL


American League winner: Yolmer Sánchez, CWS

Nominated:: José Altuve, HOU; DJ LeMahieu, NYY

National League winner: Kolten Wong, STL

Nominated: Ozzie Albies, ATL; Adam Frazier, PIT


American League winner: Francisco Lindor, CLE

Nominated: Marcus Semien, OAK; Andrelton Simmons, LAA

National League winner: Nick Ahmed, ARI

Nominated:: Paul DeJong, STL; Trevor Story, COL


American League winner: Matt Chapman, OAK

Nominated: Alex Bregman, HOU; David Fletcher, LAA

National League winner: Nolan Arenado, COL

Nominated: Anthony Rendon, WSH; Josh Donaldson, ATL


American League winner: Alex Gordon, KC

Nominated: Robbie Grossman, OAK; Andrew Benintendi, BOS

National League winner: David Peralta, ARI

Nominated: Juan Soto, WSH; Hunter Renfroe, SD


American League winner: Kevin Kiermaier, TB

Nominated: Mike Trout, LAA; Jackie Bradley Jr., BOS

National League winner: Lorenzo Cain, MIL

Nominated: Victor Robles, WSH; Harrison Bader, STL


American League winner: Mookie Betts, BOS

Nominated: Kole Calhoun, LAA; Josh Reddick, HOU

National League winner: Cody Bellinger, LAD

Nominated: Bryce Harper, PHI; Jason Heyward, CHC


American League winner: Roberto Pérez, CLE

Nominated: Danny Jansen, TOR, Christian Vázquez, BOS

National League winner: J.T. Realmuto, PHI

Nominated: Austin Hedges, SD; Yadier Molina, STL


American League winner: Mike Leake, SEA

Nominated: José Berríos, MIN; Lucas Giolito, CWS

National League winner: Zack Greinke, ARI

Nominated: Jack Flaherty, STL; Aaron Nola, PHI

This is the first time since the 2015 season that the Braves were without a Gold Glove winner. Shortstop Andrelton Simmons was arguably the best defensive player in baseball that season but was somehow passed over in favor of Brandon Crawford for the award.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power