clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dale Murphy named to 2020 Modern Baseball Era Hall of Fame Ballot

Braves legend gets another shot at the Hall of Fame

Washington Nationals v Atlanta Braves Photo by Mike Zarrilli/Getty Images

Atlanta Braves legend Dale Murphy is among 10 candidates included on the 2020 Modern Era Committee ballot for the Hall of Fame. Voting will take place on December 8 at the Baseball Winter Meetings.

Murphy is among a group that includes Dwight Evans, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Don Mattingly, Marvin Miller, Thurman Munson, Dave Parker, Ted Simmons and Lou Whitaker.

Candidates need to be included on 75 percent of the ballots cast by the 16-member Modern Baseball Era Committee in order to gain induction. Anyone receiving 75 percent of the vote will be inducted in Cooperstown on July 26, 2020 alongside many electees from the 2020 Baseball Writers’ Association of America election which will be revealed on January 21.

This will be Murphy’s second appearance on the Modern Era Ballot as he fell short of induction back in 2017.

Murphy has long been a beloved figure for the Braves who captured back-to-back NL MVP awards back in 1982 and 1983.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power