clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Freddie Freeman takes home Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award for first base

Freeman wins for the second year in a row.

Atlanta Braves v New York Mets Photo by Rob Tringali/SportsChrome/Getty Images

The 2019 Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards were handed out Wednesday night with Atlanta’ Freddie Freeman taking home his second straight award for first base. The Wilson awards are handed out to one player for each position regardless of league. They utilize a formula that includes Defensive WAR, Defensive Runs Saved along with Inside Edge ratings to determine each winner.

Freeman was not a finalist for the Rawlings Gold Glove Award in the National League but rated well in the Inside Edge metrics.

Indians catcher Roberto Perez took home the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year becoming the first catcher to ever win the award. The Houston Astros were named Defensive Team of the year. Here is a complete look at the list of winners.

First Base - Freddie Freeman, Braves

Second Base - Kolton Wong, Cardinals

Shortstop - Andrelton Simmons, Angels

Third Base - Matt Chapman, A’s

Center Field - Lorenzo Cain, Brewers

Left Field - David Peralta, Diamondbacks

Right Field - Aaron Judge, Yankees

Catcher - Roberto Perez, Indians

Pitcher - Zack Greinke, Astros

Defensive Team of the Year - Houston Astros

Defensive Player of the Year - Roberto Perez

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power