clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ian Anderson, Trey Harris headline Braves’ minor-league players of the year

SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game Photo by Rob Tringali/MLB Photos via Getty Images

During Sunday’s game, the Atlanta Braves recognized their minor league players and pitchers of the year with an on field presentation at SunTrust Park. The Braves announced a player and pitcher of the year award for each affiliate along with an overall winner for both categories.

Ian Anderson took home the organizational player of the year honor and it isn’t really that much of a surprise. Anderson is rated as Atlanta’s No 1 prospect by most outlets and posted a 3.38 ERA with 172 strikeouts in 135.2 innings between Double-A and Triple-A. He struggled a bit at the end of the season during his time with Gwinnett but has positioned himself to be a factor at some point next season.

Trey Harris was a name that wasn’t on a lot of people’s radar when the season started but he turned heads with his performance nonetheless in taking home the overall player of the year honor. Harris began the year at Low-A Rome and progressed all the way to Double-A Mississippi. He hit .323/.389/.498 with 14 home runs, 26 doubles and 73 RBIs in 131 games combined.


Player of the Year - Rafael Ortega

Pitcher of the Year - Bryse Wilson


Players of the Year - Cristian Pache and Drew Waters

Pitchers of the Year - Ian Anderson and Tucker Davidson


Player of the Year - Trey Harris

Pitcher of the Year - Hayden Deal


Player of the Year - Justin Dean

Pitcher of the Year - Dilmer Mejia


Player of the Year - Bryce Ball

Pitcher of the Year - Ricky DeVito

Gulf Coast League

Player of the Year - Michael Harris

Pitcher of the Year - Eudi Asencio

Dominican Summer League

Player of the Year - Deivi Estrada

Pitcher of the Year - Roddery Munoz

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power