clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Kyle Lewis, Devin Williams take home Rookie of the Year honors

New, comment

Awards week is underway!

Houston Astros v Seattle Mariners Photo by Stephen Brashear/Getty Images

MLB Awards week got underway Monday night with the announcement of the winners of the 2020 Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Awards.

Alec Bohm, Jake Cronenworth and Devin Williams were the finalists for the National League with Williams taking home the award. Bohm and Cronenworth actually tied for second in award voting.

Williams was lights out for the Brewers allowing just eight hits and one run over 27 innings. He struck out an eye popping 53 hitters and walked just nine. He is the first pitcher to ever win the award without making a start or logging a save.

For the American League, Cristian Javier, Kyle Lewis and Luis Robert were announced as finalists. Lewis took home the award unanimously capturing all 30 first place votes.

Lewis slumped down the stretch but still put up excellent numbers overall hitting .262/.364/.437 with a 126 wRC+ and 11 home runs.

Awards week will continue on Tuesday with the announcement of the Manager of the year Award.