clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Freddie Freeman wins Hank Aaron Award

The accolades continue to come in for Freeman

League Championship - Los Angeles Dodgers v Atlanta Braves - Game Five Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

It was announced Wednesday afternoon that Freddie Freeman won the 2020 Hank Aaron Award, awarded to the top hitter from each league after each season.

Freeman continues to rake in the awards after his MVP season in which he slashed .341/.462/.640 with an eye-popping 187 wRC+. Freeman’s wRC+ was second to only Juan Soto in the MLB, but Soto missed a number of games due to injury. Freeman’s 2020 performance was unquestionably deserving of this award, as he played a big part in one of the league’s top offenses and put up absurd individual numbers. The award named after an Atlanta legend in Hank Aaron is awarded to a Braves player in Freeman for the second time since the award’s conception in 1999, with Andruw Jones being the only other Brave to win in 2005.

White Sox slugging first baseman Jose Abreu won the award in the American League, joining Freeman as a winner of both the winner of his league’s MVP award and Hank Aaron Award.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power