clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

No one elected to Baseball Hall of Fame for 2021 class

Andruw Jones receives 33.9% of Hall of Fame vote. Tim Hudson eclipses 5% mark to remain on ballot

National Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Photo by Jim McIsaac/Getty Images

For the ninth time in the history of BBWAA balloting, no one was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame for the class of 2021. It was widely expected in recent days, but no player reached the necessary 75% threshold to gain enshrinement.

Curt Schilling came the closest finishing with 71.1 percent of the vote falling just 16 votes shy of the mark. Barry Bonds (61.8), Roger Clemens (61.6) and Scott Rolen (52.9) were the only players to receive more than 50 percent of the vote.

Among former Braves players who were on the ballot, Billy Wagner saw a sizable increase going from 31.7 percent to 46.4 percent. Gary Sheffield also saw a big jump from just over 30 percent in 2020 to 40.6 percent in 2021. Andruw Jones jumped from 19.4 percent in the last voting cycle to 33.9 percent this year. Tim Hudson, who was in his first year on the ballot, received 21 votes clearing the 5 percent threshold needed in order to remain on the ballot.

While no one was elected in this cycle, there will still be a Hall of Fame ceremony in Cooperstown later this summer. The pandemic forced the cancellation of the 2020 ceremony so Derek Jeter and Larry Walker along with Modern Era Committee selections Ted Simmons and Marvin Miller will be honored on July 25.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power