clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Astros set World Series roster

Marwin Gonzalez is the only surprise for Houston’s World Series roster.

Championship Series - Boston Red Sox v Houston Astros - Game Six Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images

The Houston Astros have announced their World Series roster in advance of Tuesday’s Game 1 against the Atlanta Braves. Houston will carry 13 pitchers and 13 position players with the only surprise being the inclusion of utility man Marwin Gonzalez who replaces Jake Meyers.

Pitchers (13): RHP Luis Garcia, RHP Yimi Garcia, RHP Kendall Graveman, RHP Zack Greinke, RHP Cristian Javier, RHP Phil Maton, RHP Jake Odorizzi, RHP Ryan Pressly, LHP Brooks Raley, RHP Ryne Stanek, LHP Blake Taylor, RHP Jose Urquidy, LHP Framber Valdez

Catchers (2): Jason Castro, Martin Maldonado

Infielders (6): Jose Altuve, Alex Bregman, Carlos Correa, Aledmys Diaz, Yuli Gurriel, Marwin Gonzalez

Outfielders (5): Yordan Alvarez, Michael Brantley, Chas McCormick, Jose Siri, Kyle Tucker

Gonzalez was released by the Red Sox in August and signed a minor league deal with Houston a couple of weeks later. He spent the first seven years of his career with the Astros playing a variety of positions and put up career-best numbers in 2017.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power