clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB officially announces 120 minor league affiliates for upcoming season

Baseball Photo by Jens Büttner/picture alliance via Getty Images

Major League Baseball announced Friday that all 120 Minor League Clubs that were given an invitation to become Professional Development League license holders have agreed to accept. This move will usher in a new era of Minor League Baseball with the elimination of several leagues and a restructuring top to bottom.

The league also announced that player salaries will be increased from 38-72% for the 2021 season and that there will be improved amenities and working conditions for players and staff. New modernized facility standards will be in place. Leagues will also feature better geographical alignment and reduced in-season travel for players and coaches.

Atlanta’s minor league affiliates remain as were reported earlier with Gwinnett (Triple-A), Mississippi (Double-A), Rome (High-A) and newcomer Augusta (Low-A). Teams are separated geographically but expect league branding to be added at some point. Here is the breakdown for each league that the Braves affiliates are a part of.

Triple-A East

(Southeast Division): Charlotte Knights, Durham Bulls, Gwinnett Stripers, Jacksonville Jumbo Shrimp, Memphis Redbirds, Nashville Sounds, Norfolk Tides.

(Midwest Division): Columbus Clippers, Indianapolis Indians, Iowa Cubs, Louisville Bats, Omaha Storm Chasers, St. Paul Saints, Toledo Mud Hens.

(Northeast Division): Buffalo Bisons, Lehigh Valley Iron Pigs, Rochester Red Wings, Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders, Syracuse Mets, Worcester Red Sox.

Double-A South

(South Division): Biloxi Shuckers, Mississippi Braves, Montgomery Biscuits, Pensacola Blue Wahoos.

(North Division): Birmingham Barons, Chattanooga Lookouts, Rocket City Trash Pandas, Tennessee Smokies.

High-A East

(South Division): Asheville Tourists, Bowling Green Hot Rods, Greensboro Grasshoppers, Greenville Drive, Hickory Crawdads, Rome Braves, Winston-Salem Dash.

(North Division): Aberdeen IronBirds, Brooklyn Cyclones, Hudson Valley Renegades, Jersey Shore BlueClaws, Wilmington Blue Rocks.

Low-A East

(South Division): Augusta GreenJackets, Charleston RiverDogs, Columbia Fireflies, Myrtle Beach Pelicans.

(North Division): Delmarva Shorebirds, Fredericksburg Nationals, Lynchburg Hillcats, Salem Red Sox.

(Central Division): Carolina Mudcats, Down East Wood Ducks, Fayetteville Woodpeckers, Kannapolis Cannon Ballers.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power