clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Andruw Jones entering sixth year on Hall of Fame ballot

Jones received 41 percent of the vote last season and needs to reach 75 percent to gain induction

2021 Sirius XM Futures Game Photo by Mary DeCicco/MLB Photos via Getty Images

The 2023 Hall of Fame ballot was released Monday by the Baseball Hall of Fame. The ballot includes 14 newcomers and 14 holdovers. Among the holdovers are former Atlanta Braves players Andruw Jones, Gary Sheffield and Billy Wagner. Former Braves pitcher R.A. Dickey is among the newcomers to the ballot.

Jones is in his sixth year on the ballot and has seen increased support in recent years, but still has work to do to gain induction. Jones’ named appeared on 41.4 percent of ballots during the 2022 cycle. Sheffield is in his ninth year on the ballot and was at 40.6 percent. Wagner is in his eighth year and checked in at 51 percent in 2022.

To gain induction, candidates need to appear on 75 percent of ballots cast. The voting results will be announced on January 24 and the induction ceremony will take place on Sunday, July 23 at 1:30 p.m. ET in Cooperstown.

Ballot Newcomers

Bronson Arroyo, Carlos Beltran, Matt Cain, Jacoby Ellsbury, Andre Ethier, J.J. Hardy, John Lackey, Mike Napoli, Jhonny Peralta, Francisco Rodriguez, Houston Stree, Jered Weaver, Jayson Werth.

Holdovers (2022 voting results)

  • Scott Rolen (63.2%) 6th year
  • Todd Helton (52.0%) 5th year
  • Billy Wagner (51.0%) 8th year
  • Andruw Jones (41.1%) 6th year
  • Gary Sheffield (40.6%) 9th year
  • Alex Rodriguez (34.3%) 2nd year
  • Jeff Kent (32.7%) 10th year
  • Manny Ramirez (28.9%) 6th year
  • Omar Vizquel (23.9%) 6th year
  • Andy Pettitte (10.7%) 5th year
  • Jimmy Rollins (9.4%) 2nd year
  • Bobby Abreu (8.6%) 4th year
  • Mark Buehrle (5.8%) 3rd year
  • Torii Hunter (5.3%) 3rd year

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power