clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Day in Braves History: Milwaukee trades Joe Adcock to Cleveland

Milwaukee Braves Photo by Hy Peskin/Getty Images

Braves Franchise History

1962 - The Milwaukee Braves trade Joe Adcock and Jack Curtis to Cleveland for pitcher Frank Funk and outfielders Don Dillard and Ty Cline.

MLB History

1941 - Joe DiMaggio wins the MVP Award in the American League over Ted Williams. DiMaggio set a league record with his 56-game hitting streak while Williams finished the season with a .406 average.

1947 - DiMaggio again edges out Williams for the AL MVP Award by just one point after one BBWAA member fails to include Williams on his ballot.

1956 - Don Newcombe becomes the first Cy Young Award winner. Only one pitcher will be selected each season until 1967 when each league will name a winner.

1972 - The Yankees acquire third baseman Graig Nettles from Cleveland in exchange for catcher John Ellis, infielder Jerry Kenney and outfielders Charlie Spikes and Rusty Torres.

1974 - Commissioner Bowie Kuhn suspends Yankees owners George Steinbrenner for two years as a result of his conviction for illegal campaign contributions to Richard Nixon and others.

1985 - Vince Coleman is the unanimous winner of the Rookie of the Year Award in the National League. Coleman stole 110 bases for the Cardinals.

1991 - The Dodgers acquire Eric Davis and pitcher Kim Gross from the Reds in exchange for pitchers Tim Belcher and John Wetteland.

2019 - The Pirates tab former Twins bench coach Derek Shelton as their new manager replacing Clint Hurdle.

Information for this article was found via Baseball Reference, and Today in Baseball History.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power