clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Day in Braves History: Dale Murphy wins second straight MVP Award

Atlanta Braves v Philadelphia Phillies Photo by Owen C. Shaw/Getty Images

Braves Franchise History

1961 - Warren Spahn finishes second in Cy Young Award voting to Whitey Ford, who led the league in wins and innings pitched.

1983 - Braves outfielder Dale Murphy wins his second straight MVP Award after hitting .302 with 36 home runs, 121 RBI and 30 stolen bases. Murphy joins Ernie Banks, Mike Schmidt and Joe Morgan as the only players to win the award in consecutive seasons.

MLB History

1934 - Ford Frick is named president of the National League. He will become commissioner in 1950.

1950 - Commissioner Happy Chandler and representatives for the players agree on the split of the TV and radio rights from the World Series.

1951 - Yankees catcher Yogi Berra wins the first of his three career AL MVP Awards.

1954 - American League owners approve the move of the Philadelphia Athletics to Kansas City with a 6-2 vote. The Athletics will play their home games at Municipal Stadium.

1966 - Frank Robinson is the unanimous choice for American League MVP after winning the triple crown. Robinson is the first player to win the award in both leagues.

1990 - Darryl Strawberry signs a five-year deal with the Los Angeles Dodgers.

1991 - Cal Ripken Jr. is named AL MVP. Detroit’s Cecil Fielder finished second.

2018 - The Rays trade outfielders Mallex Smith and Jake Fraley to Seattle in exchange for catcher Mike Zunino and outfielder Guillermo Heredia.

Information for this article was found via Baseball Reference, and Today in Baseball History.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power