clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Day in Braves History: Atlanta signs Andres Galarraga

Sports Contributor Archive 2019 Photo by Ron Vesely/MLB Photos via Getty Images

Braves Franchise History

1979 - The Braves sign reliever Al Hrabosky to a five-year, $2.2 million deal.

1997 - Atlanta signs first baseman Andres Galarraga to a three-year, $24.8 million deal.

MLB History

1888 - The Joint Rules Committee reduces the number of balls for a walk from five to four.

1950 - Pirates general manager Roy Haley resigns from his job and is replaced by Branch Rickey.

1962 - Mickey Mantle wins his third American League MVP Award after hitting .321 with 30 homers. Mantle also led the AL in walks and slugging percentage.

1967 - Tom Seaver wins the NL Rookie of the Year Award after posting a 16-12 record with a 2.76 ERA and 170 strikeouts.

1984 - Dwight Gooden becomes the youngest player ever to win the National League Rookie of the Year Award. Gooden went 17-9 with a 2.60 ERA and led the majors with 276 strikeouts.

1985 - Don Mattingly wins the MVP Award for the American League after hitting .324 with 35 home runs and 145 RBI.

1985 - The Pirates name Jim Leyland as their new manager replacing Chuck Tanner.

1990 - Rickey Henderson beats out Cecil Fielder for the MVP Award in the American League.

2001 - Ichiro Suzuki becomes the second player in major league history to win the MVP Award and the Rookie of the Year Award in the same season.

Information for this article was found via Baseball Reference, and Today in Baseball History.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power