clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Day in MLB History: February 2

Baltimore Orioles v Boston Red Sox Photo by Steve Babineau /MLB Photos via Getty Images

MLB History

1876 - The National League is formed in New York City as a result of the lack of central direction in the young National Association. The NL will field eight teams in its inaugural season and will become the blueprint of professional team sports in North America.

1936 - The BBWAA elects Babe Ruth, Ty Cobb Walter Johnson, Christy Mathewson and Honus Wagner in the first ever Hall of Fame vote.

1989 - Bill White is elected president of the National League replacing Chub Feeney and becoming the first African-American to be named president in either league and is the highest ranking African-American executive in the four major sports.

2005 - The Toronto SkyDome is officially renamed as the “Rogers Centre” following the purchase of the Blue Jays by Rogers Communications.

2005 - The Chicago Cubs trade Sammy Sosa to the Baltimore Orioles in exchange for second baseman Jerry Hairston Jr. and two minor league players.

Information for this article was found via Baseball Reference, and Today in Baseball History.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power