clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Day in Braves History: March 8

Miami Marlins v Atlanta Braves Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Braves Franchise History

2016 - Major League Baseball announces that the Braves and the Marlins will play a game at Fort Bragg on July 3.

MLB History

1900 - The National League votes to shrink to eight teams. They pay Baltimore owners $30,000 for their franchise. Cleveland, Louisville and Washington receive $10,000 each. The league remained the same until 1953 when the Boston Braves moved to Milwaukee.

1923 - Judge Kennesaw Mountain Landis allows former New York Giants pitcher Rube Benton to return to the National League. Benton had previously admitted prior knowledge of the 1919 World Series fix. Benton will sign with the Cincinnati Reds.

1930 - Babe Ruth signs a two year contract with the Yankees that will pay him $80,000 per season.

1938 - Lou Gehrig rejects a one-year, $39,000 offer from the Yankees, but will give in four days later and sign the deal and report to Spring Training.

1966 - The Special Veterans Committee elects former manager Casey Stengel to the Hall of Fame.

1985 - Dave Stieb agrees to an 11-year contract with the Toronto Blue Jays that is worth an estimated $25 million based on deferred payments and incentives.

2011 - Major League Baseball names Dodgers Assistant GM Kim Ng as senior Vice-President.

Information for this article was found via Baseball Reference, and Today in Baseball History.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Battery Power Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Atlanta Braves news from Battery Power